Japan Office



Kyoto Prize 2017

Posted: 2017/11/21 | Author: UOJO


Photo courtesy of the Inamori Foundation 

The 33rd Kyoto Prize was held on 10 November 2017 in Kyoto. The Kyoto Prize is an international award to honour those who have contributed significantly to the scientific, cultural, and spiritual betterment of mankind, and is presented annually in each of the following categories: Advanced Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy. From this year all three laureates are invited to Oxford for a major event at the Blavatnik School of Government, the “Kyoto Prize at Oxford.”

The 2017 laureates of the Kyoto Prize are:

Advanced Technology: Takashi Miura, semiconductor engineer and inventor of the High Electron Mobility Transistor (HEMT)

Basic Sciences: Graham Farquhar, plant physiologist who has also made major contributions to the advancement of environmental and climate change sciences.

Arts and Philosophy: Richard Taruskin, musicologist and music critic who has written extensively on Western music.

The Kyoto Prize at Oxford will take place on 8 – 9 May 2018. We are greatly looking forward to welcoming the laureates to Oxford at that time.